“Smile!”

I went in to renew my driver’s license, today.  On holidays, my family and I invariably put several thousand kilometers on the car, so I need to have a valid license…!

Within the past year, I’ve also obtained a new passport.  In both cases, I’ve been asked to take off my glasses and not to smile.  This is new; it’s not quite as new in the case of obtaining a passport (it’s been like that for about a decade now, it seems to me).  What unnerves me about it is that I can only guess the reason for this measure is that I’ll look like someone you’re less likely to care about should I end up as a wanted person by the police… no smile, looking straight at the camera – this guy must be a criminal!  (Images are powerful!)

I’m pictured in the files of the federal and provincial governments, and have been as long as I’ve been applying for government-issued identification.  Why no smile?  I like to smile in pictures!  Does it make for an easier conviction should I be charged with something?  I’m am still innocent until proven guilty in our justice system, correct?  (…heaven forbid I should find myself on that side of the law.)

In a tough on crime agenda, making a case to limit the freedoms of people who seem to be a threat to ruling powers is everything.  I worry about that with our current federal government, as well as the current provincial government.  I’d rather see them both advocating for a better social net: how about health and education available and accessible to all?  …that kind of priority would certainly make me smile!

Posted on July 14, 2010, in Tyler's occasional web log. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

